Governor Signs LD 828 into Law--Unorganized Territories Citizens Now Have a Say About Wind Power Proposals

In a seesion of the legislature where the Governor has been vetoing legislation , Governor LePage stood up for the rights of the citizens in the state's Unorganized Territories and SIGNED LD 828 into law.  What a long and skillfully fought victory!  The following is the message from UT Citizens for Fair Policy.

Final Legislative Update - June 30, 2015

Governor signs LD 828! 

LD 828, An Act To Improve Regulatory Consistency within the Jurisdiction of the Maine Land Use Planning Commission

LD 828 enacted.
Yesterday, Governor LePage put his signature on LD 828, enacting it into law, and bringing this multiyear legislative effort to a close. It was a true grassroots effort, and it couldn't have happened without support and participation by a lot of people. A mountain of thanks goes out to all of you who answered the many calls for action.

What did LD 828 do?
Simply put, LD 828 established a process that would allow residents of the Unorganized Territory (UT) to petition for removal of their communities from the expedited permitting area. It doesn't prohibit wind power development in any of these places. Rather, it just makes it possible to restore the voice UT residents had in their communities' futures prior to the 2008 Wind Energy Act.

What now?
This is the last Legislative Alert/Update I expect to send to this email list. If you'd like to continue receiving information on the newly created removal process, send me an email at utcffp@gmail.com and I will put you on a new email list to be used specifically for that purpose. Questions are likely to arise, so I plan to establish a web resource that can be accessed by UT residents - or anyone else - who might be looking for information on the removal process. 

A note on LD 828's trip through the Legislature.
It would take a lot of space to recount LD 828's journey in detail, so I won't even try here. Some remarkable - and disturbing - things happened. If you're interested in any of the details, please feel free to contact me at the email address or phone number below.
 

Thanks to these legislators.
The first, and only, roll call vote on LD 828 was in the House, with all subsequent approvals coming unanimously without roll calls. After more than an hour of floor debate, this initial vote in the House was very controversial, but the following legislators stood with us despite many days of heavy lobbying to cast their votes against us. If you have time, I hope you'll consider sending a short thank you to these supportive House members. 

As a timesaver, you can copy and paste the entire list of email addresses below into the Bcc line of your email.

Susan.Austin@legislature.maine.gov, Kevin.Battle@legislature.maine.gov, Bruce.Bickford@legislature.maine.gov, Russell.Black@legislature.maine.gov, Andrew.Buckland@legislature.maine.gov, Richard.Campbell@legislature.maine.gov, Paul.Chace@legislature.maine.gov, Dale.Crafts@legislature.maine.gov, Kathleen.Dillingham@legislature.maine.gov, Larry.Dunphy@legislature.maine.gov, Anthony.Edgecomb@legislature.maine.gov, Eleanor.Espling@legislature.maine.gov, Robert.Foley@legislature.maine.gov, Karen.Gerrish@legislature.maine.gov, Phyllis.Ginzler@legislature.maine.gov, Randall.Greenwood@legislature.maine.gov, Sheldon.Hanington@legislature.maine.gov, Jeffery.Hanley@legislature.maine.gov, Stephanie.Hawke@legislature.maine.gov, Frances.Head@legislature.maine.gov, Norman.Higgins@legislature.maine.gov, Brian.Hobart@legislature.maine.gov, Jonathan.Kinney@legislature.maine.gov, MaryAnne.Kinney@legislature.maine.gov, Lawrence.Lockman@legislature.maine.gov, Ricky.Long@legislature.maine.gov, Joyce.Maker@legislature.maine.gov, Richard.Malaby@legislature.maine.gov, Donald.Marean@legislature.maine.gov, Michael.McClellan@legislature.maine.gov, Carol.McElwee@legislature.maine.gov, Robert.Nutting@legislature.maine.gov, Beth.O'Connor@legislature.maine.gov, Wayne.Parry@legislature.maine.gov, John.Picchiotti@legislature.maine.gov, Richard.Pickett@legislature.maine.gov, Dwayne.Prescott@legislature.maine.gov, Roger.Reed@legislature.maine.gov, Deborah.Sanderson@legislature.maine.gov, David.Sawicki@legislature.maine.gov, Stedman.Seavey@legislature.maine.gov, Roger.Sherman@legislature.maine.gov, Heather.Sirocki@legislature.maine.gov, Thomas.Skolfield@legislature.maine.gov, Paul.Stearns@legislature.maine.gov, Joel.Stetkis@legislature.maine.gov, Timothy.Theriault@legislature.maine.gov, Jeffrey.Timberlake@legislature.maine.gov, Michael.Timmons@legislature.maine.gov, William.Tuell@legislature.maine.gov, Beth.Turner@legislature.maine.gov, Karen.Vachon@legislature.maine.gov, Nathan.Wadsworth@legislature.maine.gov, Raymond.Wallace@legislature.maine.gov, Dustin.White@legislature.maine.gov, Tom.Winsor@legislature.maine.gov, Stephen.Wood@legislature.maine.gov, Roberta.Beavers@legislature.maine.gov, Henry.Beck@legislature.maine.gov, Ralph.Chapman@legislature.maine.gov, Justin.Chenette@legislature.maine.gov, Michelle.Dunphy@legislature.maine.gov, Benjamin.Chipman@legislature.maine.gov, Jeffrey.Evangelos@legislature.maine.gov, Stanley.Short@legislature.maine.gov, Gary.Sukeforth@legislature.maine.gov, Denise.Harlow@legislature.maine.gov, Craig.Hickman@legislature.maine.gov, Terry.Morrison@legislature.maine.gov, Catherine.Nadeau@legislature.maine.gov, William.Noon@legislature.maine.gov, Stephen.Stanley@legislature.maine.gov, Arthur.Verow@legislature.maine.gov, Charlotte.Warren@legislature.maine.gov
 

Again, many thanks and much appreciation goes out to those of you who've been involved with this effort. Citizen involvement can and does make things happen.

Best,
Alan Michka
utcffp@gmail.com
(207) 628-2014
 

Helpful links
LD 828 as enacted. - Senate Amend. A to Committee Amend. A.
LD 828 chamber status. - Access to official information and legislative records associated with LD 828.
Find your Maine legislators. A town by town listing of Maine senators and representatives. 
 

Views: 159

Comment

You need to be a member of Citizens' Task Force on Wind Power - Maine to add comments!

Join Citizens' Task Force on Wind Power - Maine

Hannah Pingree on the Maine expedited wind law

Hannah Pingree - Director of Maine's Office of Innovation and the Future

"Once the committee passed the wind energy bill on to the full House and Senate, lawmakers there didn’t even debate it. They passed it unanimously and with no discussion. House Majority Leader Hannah Pingree, a Democrat from North Haven, says legislators probably didn’t know how many turbines would be constructed in Maine."

https://pinetreewatch.org/wind-power-bandwagon-hits-bumps-in-the-road-3/

 

Maine as Third World Country:

CMP Transmission Rate Skyrockets 19.6% Due to Wind Power

 

Click here to read how the Maine ratepayer has been sold down the river by the Angus King cabal.

Maine Center For Public Interest Reporting – Three Part Series: A CRITICAL LOOK AT MAINE’S WIND ACT

******** IF LINKS BELOW DON'T WORK, GOOGLE THEM*********

(excerpts) From Part 1 – On Maine’s Wind Law “Once the committee passed the wind energy bill on to the full House and Senate, lawmakers there didn’t even debate it. They passed it unanimously and with no discussion. House Majority Leader Hannah Pingree, a Democrat from North Haven, says legislators probably didn’t know how many turbines would be constructed in Maine if the law’s goals were met." . – Maine Center for Public Interest Reporting, August 2010 https://www.pinetreewatchdog.org/wind-power-bandwagon-hits-bumps-in-the-road-3/From Part 2 – On Wind and Oil Yet using wind energy doesn’t lower dependence on imported foreign oil. That’s because the majority of imported oil in Maine is used for heating and transportation. And switching our dependence from foreign oil to Maine-produced electricity isn’t likely to happen very soon, says Bartlett. “Right now, people can’t switch to electric cars and heating – if they did, we’d be in trouble.” So was one of the fundamental premises of the task force false, or at least misleading?" https://www.pinetreewatchdog.org/wind-swept-task-force-set-the-rules/From Part 3 – On Wind-Required New Transmission Lines Finally, the building of enormous, high-voltage transmission lines that the regional electricity system operator says are required to move substantial amounts of wind power to markets south of Maine was never even discussed by the task force – an omission that Mills said will come to haunt the state.“If you try to put 2,500 or 3,000 megawatts in northern or eastern Maine – oh, my god, try to build the transmission!” said Mills. “It’s not just the towers, it’s the lines – that’s when I begin to think that the goal is a little farfetched.” https://www.pinetreewatchdog.org/flaws-in-bill-like-skating-with-dull-skates/

Not yet a member?

Sign up today and lend your voice and presence to the steadily rising tide that will soon sweep the scourge of useless and wretched turbines from our beloved Maine countryside. For many of us, our little pieces of paradise have been hard won. Did the carpetbaggers think they could simply steal them from us?

We have the facts on our side. We have the truth on our side. All we need now is YOU.

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”

 -- Mahatma Gandhi

"It's not whether you get knocked down: it's whether you get up."
Vince Lombardi 

Task Force membership is free. Please sign up today!

© 2021   Created by Webmaster.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service